skip to navigation | skip to content

Home : Massage Therapists : Professional License Registration

Create an Account or Login to Continue

To apply or renew licenses with the Louisiana Board of Massage Therapy, please sign in or create an account in the User Login area to the right.

Professional License Registration for First Time Applicants


          Know the Law

As a professionally licensed massage therapist, you are solely responsible for understanding all Laws, Rules, Regulations and Standards that govern the profession of massage therapy in Louisiana. Visit the Louisiana Law link on the LBMT website.



Approved applicants must register their license within 45 days from the date in which the application was approved. If past 45 days, the application process will need to be completed again. Registrations can be done online through your personal LABMT account or by completing this form (Click Here) and mailing to the office. Incomplete registration forms will be returned. The board office may contact the registrant for clarification if needed on any information submitted. If the board office requires review by the Board members, the registrant will be notified in writing. An approval email will be sent once the registration is processed. After approval the license will be available for printing from your personal dashboard.


Once Approved

It is the responsibly of the Licensed Massage Therapist to read notifications received via email and/or USPS as well as the visit the website regularly for changes in processes, policies, laws, rules and standards. It is the responsibility of the Licensed Massage Therapist to respond to any correspondence sent via email or USPS in the timeframe required if indicated. Information will be sent to the email/mailing address submitted to the board and on record.


Notification Changes

Licensees are required to notify the Board office of any changes regarding working locations, address/email changes, name changes etc.. Please visit the download forms page on the LBMT website under Massage Therapist for more information.


Renewals & Continuing Education (C.E.U’s)

First year applicants are not required to take CEU’s their first year. After the first year it is the Licensees responsibility to only take Louisiana State Approved continuing education as shown on the LABMT website and that certificates submitted have the required approved LCEU# on the certificate. Each license expires March 31st each year regardless of when the initial registration was completed. Each Licensed Massage Therapist has 3 months to renew their professional license between January 1st and March 31st, this is ample time to renew your license so no extensions or waivers can be given.


Working Location (Establishment Solo Practitioner Registration / Establishment License)

Before working, visit the website, Massage Establishments, “FAQ’s Massage Establishment” page to ensure you are in compliance in regards to your working location. As a reminder, all licensees must provide each working location and it is a violation of the law to work at an unlicensed establishment.